Opened in 1932 by Sir Charles Trevelyan, Newbiggin's promenade has been the focal point of its sea front for decades and is Northumberland’s longest promenade. Newbiggin was already a popular destination within the region, but after the promenade was built it saw a huge rise in its popularity. During the 1930’s it acted as the focal point for attracting visitors from all backgrounds and to take in the ‘Pierrot’ variety shows and other entertainments, enjoy the local coastline or visit one or two of its popular watering holes.
In more recent years, the promenade suffered from problems with subsistence but has since undergone structural improvements to keep it place for the future. Now residents and visitors can walk along this historic feature and take the brilliant views of the bay as thousands used to every year.
Find out more information about what's nearby below.